Once again, the impressive hall of the Kijów cinema was crowded with the audience and filmmakers eagerly awaiting the verdict. The in-cinema part of the 64th Kraków Film Festival is drawing to a close, culminating in the awards ceremony. This year, the event was preceded by the world premiere of Małgorzata Szumowska and Michał Englert’s film All Inclusive. A gala ceremony attended by the Deputy Mayor of Kraków, Stanisław Mazur, commenced after the screening.

The Silver Horn for the director of the film with high artistic merit went to Tomasz Wolski for A Year in the Life of the Country. As we can read in the verdict: The masterful editing craft on display: the pacing, score, soundscape and narrative design seriously impressed the jury. The film stimulates a range of emotional responses, from humour to empathy & outrage, making distant history more vital & relevant to audiences today.


The title of the most awarded film went to Silent Trees by Agnieszka Zwiefka. The director received the Golden Hobby-Horse for the best Polish documentary over 30 minutes. The jury of the National Competition, chaired by Piotr Śliskowski, praised the film for having a story that is a complete work. For a film where a refugee is a human being and not an empty media topic. For a poignant record of pain, despair, rejection, and lack of acceptance, but at the same time for a film that gives hope. The Golden Hobby-Horse went to Agnieszka Zwiefka for the film Silent TreesAgnieszka Zwiefka’s film also received a Special Mention in the International Documentary Competition and was recommended by the Kraków Film Festival for the European Film Awards. A Special Mention was given to the protagonist of the film, Runa Husni. 

For the second time, three Golden Hobby-Horses were awarded to short films. The title of best Polish fiction film went to Comme Des Cowboys by Julia Sadowska, recognised for an intimate and evocative cinematic narrative. For the personal voice of the author, who, without relying on the subject matter, opens the door to the world of her own sensitivity. The jury, chaired by Jacek Borcuch, awarded the animation There Will Be No Other End by Piotr Milczarek for making a satire full of original humour which exposes the flaws of contemporary society. Among the documentaries, Tiger Soup by Kacper Świtalski captivated the jury, earning an award for telling a story about seizing life. For showing us that an extraordinary adventure can be just around the corner. Its lush, colour-saturated cinematography takes us on a journey that knows no limits, carried by the simplest yet most important emotions. A special mention from the jury was given to Elżbieta Benkowska for her short fiction film The Power of Resistance.

The Award for the Best Short and Documentary Films Producer in Poland, sponsored by the Polish Producers Alliance, ATM Group, and FDR Studio, was given to Anna Bławut-Mazurkiewicz for the film Everything Needs to Live in recognition of her extremely courageous production and organizational work and in gratitude for co-creating one of the most moving films about the horrors of contemporary armed conflict and the dedication in defending the rights of those most in need.


The Maciej Szumowski Award for Remarkable Social Awareness – under the patronage of the Society of Authors ZAiKS – was once again presented at the festival. The title went to Grzegorz Brzozowski for the film Only Day and Night. The justification reads: The film has an extraordinary sense of historical timing and sensitivity in portraying the protagonists in a situation of collective danger, whose result is an exceptionally modern and – simultaneously – universal story about every one of us.

The Wrocław Feature Film Studio Special Mention for creators debuting with their first or second fiction film was awarded to Ewa Borysewicz for Miracle. The film was also recognised for best editing. The President of the Polish Filmmakers Association Award went to Aleksandra Rosset-Żak. 

The award for best cinematography – under the patronage of the Polish Society of Cinematographers and funded by Black Photon – went to Aliaksander Tsymbaliuk for the film Koka. This short documentary was appreciated for an extremely intimate portrayal of characters living on the coast of the Bering Sea and for exceptional cinematography that creates an unparalleled atmosphere of a deeply tense and tender story.

The list of all awarded films can be found here.